Dolly Parton

Dolly [Box Set]

Dolly [4 CD Box Set]
Purchase Dolly Parton's 'Dolly Box Set' from Amazon!  

Dolly Parton Box Set

Disc 1:

1.  Puppy Love
2.  Girl Left Alone
3.  Gonna Hurry (As Slow As I Can)*
4.  It's Sure Gonna Hurt
5.  The Love You Gave
6.  Nobody But You*
7.  Busy Signal
8.  Don't Drop Out
9.  I've Known You All My Life*
10.  Put It Off Until Tomorrow (by Bill Phillips)
11.  Dumb Blonde
12.  Something Fishy
13.  I Couldn't Wait Forever
14.  I'm Not Worth The Tears
15.  Last Thing On My Mind
16.  False Eyelashes
17.  The Bridge
18.  Just Because I'm A Woman
19.  Holdin' On To Nothin'
20.  We'll Get Ahead Someday
21.  Jeannie's Afraid Of The Dark
22.  In The Good Old Days (When Times Were Bad)
23.  Daddy
24.  Evening Shade
25.  Gypsy, Joe & Me
26.  My Blue Ridge Mountain Boy

Disc 2:

1.  Just The Way I Am
2.  Down From Dover
3.  Everything Is Beautiful (In Its Own Way)*
4.  Daddy Come And Get Me
5.  Just Someone I Used To Know
6.  Tomorrow Is Forever
7.  Daddy Was An Old Time Preacher Man
8.  Cominí For To Carry Me Home
9.  Golden Streets Of Glory
10.  Mule Skinner Blues (Blue Yodel No. 8)
11.  Joshua
12.  Daddyís Moonshine Still
13.  The Last One To Touch Me
14.  Better Move It On Home
15.  Coat Of Many Colors
16.  Traveling Man
17.  My Blue Tears
18.  Here I Am
19.  Godís Coloring Book*
20.  Will He Be Waiting
21.  Touch Your Woman
22.  Together Always
23.  Lost Forever In Your Kiss
24.  My Tennessee Mountain Home
25.  Eugene Oregon*
26.  What Will Baby Be*

Disc 3:

1.  Jolene
2.  Early Morning Breeze
3.  I Will Always Love You
4.  Please Donít Stop Loving Me
5.  Love Is Like A Butterfly
6.  Sacred Memories
7.  The Bargain Store
8.  On My Mind Again
9.  Kentucky Gambler
10.  The Seeker
11.  We Used To
12.  All I Can Do
13.  Light Of A Clear Blue Morning
14.  You Are
15.  Applejack
16.  Itís All Wrong, But Itís All Right
17.  Here You Come Again
18.  Two Doors Down
19.  Me And Little Andy
20.  Heartbreaker
21.  I Really Got The Feelin'
22.  Baby I'm Burnin'
23.  You're The Only One
24.  Sweet Summer Lovin'
25.  Starting Over Again

Disc 4:

1.  Old Flames Canít Hold A Candle To You
2.  9 To 5
3.  But You Know I Love You
4.  Single Women
5.  Heartbreak Express
6.  Do I Ever Cross Your Mind
7.  Potential New Boyfriend
8.  Islands In The Stream
9.  Save The Last Dance For Me
10.  Tennessee Homesick Blues
11.  God Wonít Get You
12.  What A Heartache
13.  Donít Call It Love
14.  Think About Love
15.  Whyíd You Come In Here Lookin' Like That
16.  Yellow Roses
17.  Time For Me To Fly
18.  He's Alive
19.  Rockin' Years
20.  Eagle When She Flies
21.  Silver And Gold
22.  Romeo

* = previously unreleased track


Released:  October 27, 2009 by RCA Nashville/Legacy Recordings

If the image of Dolly Parton was to be carved in stone atop a great mountain in her native East Tennessee hills, it would be a worthy honor among the hundreds of honors and awards she has already received. Her numerous accomplishments over the past 50 years have reflected her roles as a singer, songwriter, musician, record producer, worldwide touring artist, Hollywood actor and tv personality, Broadway entrepreneur, author, amusement theme park owner, celebrated philanthropist, and more.

Not the least of those accomplishments is her litany of hit songs and signature compositions. Dolly Parton is distinguished for having charted at least one Top 5 country hit in each decade since the '60s. She has also charted at least one #1 country hit (if not a dozen) in each decade from the '70s to the '00s: "Joshua," "Jolene," "I Will Always Love You," "Love Is Like A Butterfly," "Here You Come Again," and many more in the '70s; "Starting Over Again," the Grammy Award-winning "9 To 5," "Islands In The Stream" (with Kenny Rogers), "Tennessee Homesick Blues," "Why'd You Come In Here Lookin' Like That," and many more in the '80s; "Rockin' Years" (with Ricky Van Shelton) in 1991; and "When I Get Where I'm Going" (with Brad Paisley) in 2005.

Now a unique new honor comes her way with the simply-titled "Dolly," the first multi-CD, multi-label deluxe box set compilation ever to represent her life's work, comprising 99 songs over four CDs. "Dolly" will be available at all physical and digital retail outlets starting October 27th through RCA Nashville/Legacy, a division of SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT.

The elegant package designed for "Dolly" houses a full-color 60-page booklet with never-before-seen photographs and rare memorabilia. A brief and loving introduction has been written by Nashville-bred singer-songwriter Laura Cantrell. An extensive 5,000-word biographical essay follows, by ASCAP-Deems Taylor Award-winning writer-editor-producer-lecturer Holly George-Warren. Her recent books include Public Cowboy No. 1: The Life and Times of Gene Autry; The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: The First 25 Years; and The Road to Woodstock (with Michael Lang). She has written liner notes for dozens of rock and country anthologies and box sets, many of them on Legacy, including June Carter Cash's Keep On The Sunny Side: Her Life in Music (2005), Johnny Cash at Madison Square Garden (2002) and the reissue of Uncle Tupelo's Still Feel Gone (2003).

Earlier this year, in March 2009, one week prior to the eagerly-anticipated Broadway opening of 9 To 5: The Musical at the Marriott Marquis Theatre, RCA Nashville/Legacy released a new expanded edition of 1980's 9 To 5 And Odd Jobs - with three bonus tracks, two of them previously unreleased.

"Dolly" continues to explore the broad range and depth of her recording career - from the rarely-heard sides cut at age 11 for the Louisiana-based Goldband indie label, and at age 16 for Mercury in Nashville, through her whirlwind two years (and first chart records) with Monument (1965-67), her record-setting near two-decade stay with RCA Records (1967-85, underpinning her long hitmaking association with Porter Wagoner), and another near-decade at Columbia into the '90s.

In addition, seven previously unreleased tracks make their historic debuts on this box set:

  • "Gonna Hurry (As Slow As I Can)" - demo circa 1957-62, co-written with her uncle Bill Owens, a formative figure in Dolly's early musical evolution;
  • "Nobody But You" (with the Merry Melody Singers) - from the same 1962 Nashville sessions that produced Dolly's Mercury single "It's Sure Gonna Hurt" b/w "The Love You Gave," both songs also included on this box set;
  • "I've Known You All My Life" - a virtually unknown Goffin-King song (cut by the Four Preps) from the same November 1965 sessions at Monument as "Don't Drop Out," produced and arranged by Ray Stevens;
  • "Everything Is Beautiful (In Its Own Way)" - an original composition, from the fall 1969 sessions at RCA Studios Nashville for The Fairest Of Them All;
  • "God's Coloring Book" - an original, thematically related to "Coat Of Many Colors," from the same April 1971 sessions which produced that LP;
  • "Eugene Oregon" and "What Will Baby Be" - both original compositions, from the RCA Studios Nashville sessions of December 1972, for My Tennessee Mountain Home.